First Annual Garlic Cup Results

The First Annual Garlic Cup was a resounding success!  The competition was fierce with 3 equally matched flights.  Flight 1, featuring South Bay Polo Blue v Dungar Red showcased players both experienced and those newer to polo.  Both teams had players with less that one years’ experience.  But you couldn’t tell by their level of play, and everyone got a piece of the action.  In the end, South Bay Polo Blue was victorious, and enjoyed bottles presented by Burrell School Vineyards – our wine sponsor.

Between matches, spectators enjoyed a twist on traditional Divot Stop.  Firestone Walker Brewing Company, located in San Luis Obispo (heart of Central Valley Polo) sponsored this years’ Divot Stop and guest enjoyed a craft beer while fixing the field for the featured match.

The featured match brought together two top class teams, which have a history of playing against each other.  One could say there may even be a bit of a rivalry.  Coldwell Banker featured Lyn Jason Cobb, Manny Rodriguez, Santos Arriola, and Ben Kennedy vs. Park Lane featuring Bill Garlock, Carlos Rivas, Francesca Finato, Doug Bloomenthal and Wheaties Barnaby.  After the first day, Park Lane had a big lead, only to have it narrowed to a 12 -12 tie in the last chukkar.  A goal by Park Lane with 30 seconds sealed the deal 12- 11.

Flight 3 comprised of a round robin between Wrightway Polo, Menlo White, and South Bay Polo Red.  Wrightway polo came out victorious in part due to the new phenom Brooke Faber who took up polo just a few months ago.  A natural indeed.

Everyone enjoyed BBQ’s and libation on Saturday and Sunday as the stories of great shots and epic ride-off got bigger and bigger.  South Bay Polo recognizes the social aspect of the game off-field is just as important on-field and they pulled out all the stops.

Thanks to all that attended, and we look forward to many more tournaments.

Flight 1 winners: South Bay Polo Blue – Terry Reilly, Jose, Megan Judge, Nora, Laura Hansen, John

Flight 2 winners: Park Lane  – Bill Garlock, Carlos Rivas, Franceca Finato,Doug Bloomenthal, Barnaby

Flight 3 Round Robin Winners: Wrightway Polo – Jennifer Hahamian, Brooke Faber, Erik Wright, Patton Granada